Choose a village
Choose a village

Desjardins Village in Lights news

A house in the Village Québécois of yesteryear was engulfed in flames

Desjardins Illuminated Village activities will continue as planned until January 2.

Drummondville, December 28, 2018 – The Faucher house, which has long been the home of the Village gossip, was engulfed in flames Friday morning around 8 a.m. The fire, which has now been brought under control, was mainly concentrated in the structure and attic of the summer kitchen. Activities at the Desjardins Illuminated Village, both indoor and outdoor, will take place according to the usual schedule. Remember that the Desjardins Illuminated Village focuses on the traditions of our ancestors during the holiday season. The site is safe for visitors, according to the Acting Division Chief of the Drummondville Fire Department, Mr. Pascal Roux. The activities that used to take place in this house will be relocated elsewhere on the site. It is still too early to determine the exact cause of the fire, but the wood stove would be seriously suspected.

Guy Bellehumeur, General Manager of the VQA, says he is nevertheless relieved under the circumstances. “We will be able to preserve the house in an authentic manner since only the summer kitchen was damaged. The common room around which two small bedrooms, the living room, another room converted into a notary’s office and the upper floor were saved,” he said.

“Without the quick intervention of the Village’s employees, who were present when the fire broke out, and of the firefighters who arrived quickly on the scene, the house would have been a total loss,” added Mr. Bellehumeur. In fact, the house is built entirely of wood and is insulated with sawdust; conditions that help the fire spread.

Built in 1850, the Faucher house represents the typical model of the “Quebec house” even if the porch-gallery is an addition from the beginning of the 20th century. The interior of this house represents the concern for perfection on the part of the craftsmen who worked there. Its roof is gabled with eaves troughs covered with cedar shingles. In 1903, the owner, Zéphirin Faucher, added a summer kitchen to the house. On the first floor, the ceiling is very low. It is a “coffered” ceiling fixed under the beams as found in very old and typical French Canadian homes.

The Village québécois d’antan offers visitors of all ages, from here and abroad, an authentic cultural experience by immersing them in the discovery of 19th and 20th century French-speaking Quebec. Consisting of authentic buildings, architectural treasures of peasant life, this lively interpretation centre brings back to life the 10,000 artifacts received over the years and is a contemporary showcase for the customs, traditions, trades and know-how, as well as the words that forged the history of a people. For more details on the Village québécois d’antan, visit our website at villagequebecois.com or contact us at 819 478-1441 / 1 877 710-0267. We also invite you to follow us on social media to stay informed of the latest news.

– — 30 —

Source :
Jacinthe Roberge
Heads of Communications
Quebec Village of Yesteryear
jacinthe.roberge@villagequebecois.com
819,478-1441 ext. 223

2020-04-06T11:42:02-04:00December 28, 2018|Desjardins Village in Lights news, News|

Choisissez un village
Choisissez un village

Nouvelles

Une maison du Village québécois d’antan a été la proie des flammes

Les activités du Village illuminé Desjardins se dérouleront tout de même comme prévu jusqu’au 2 janvier

Drummondville, le 28 décembre 2018 – La maison Faucher, celle qui a longtemps été la demeure de la commère du Village, a été la proie des flammes vendredi matin vers 8 h. Le feu, qui est maintenant maitrisé, s’est surtout concentré dans la structure et l’entretoit de la cuisine d’été. Les activités du Village illuminé Desjardins, tant les animations intérieures qu’extérieures, auront lieu selon l’horaire habituel. Rappelons que le Village illuminé Desjardins porte sur les traditions de nos ancêtres pendant le temps des Fêtes. Le site ne représente aucun danger pour les visiteurs selon le chef de division par intérim du Service incendie de Drummondville, M. Pascal Roux. Les activités qui avaient lieu dans cette maison seront relocalisées ailleurs sur le site. Il est encore trop tôt pour déterminer avec exactitude la cause du feu, mais le poêle à bois serait sérieusement soupçonné.

Guy Bellehumeur, directeur général du VQA, se dit tout de même soulagé dans les circonstances. « Nous serons en mesure de conserver la maison de façon authentique puisque seule la cuisine d’été a été endommagée. La salle commune autour de laquelle gravitent deux petites chambres, le salon, une autre pièce aménagée en étude de notaire ainsi que l’étage supérieur ont pu être sauvés » a-t-il déclaré.

« Sans l’intervention rapide des employés du Village, présents au moment où le feu s’est déclaré, et de celle des pompiers qui sont arrivés rapidement sur les lieux, la maison aurait été une perte totale » a renchéri M. Bellehumeur. En effet, la maison est entièrement construite de bois et est isolée au bran de scie; des conditions aidant à la propagation du feu.

Construite en 1850, la maison Faucher représente le modèle typique de « la maison québécoise » même si le perron-galerie est un ajout du début du 20e siècle. L’intérieur de cette maison représente le souci de perfection de la part des artisans qui y ont œuvré. Son toit est à deux versants avec retours de larmiers recouverts de bardeaux de cèdre. En 1903, le propriétaire, Zéphirin Faucher, ajoute à la maison une cuisine d’été. Au premier étage, le plafond est très bas. Il s’agit d’un plafond à « caissons » fixé sous les poutres tel qu’on en retrouve dans les habitations très anciennes et typiques du Canada français.

Le Village québécois d’antan offre à ses visiteurs, de tous âges, d’ici et d’ailleurs, une expérience culturelle authentique en les plongeant dans la découverte du Québec francophone du 19e et du 20e siècle. Constitué de bâtiments véritables, trésors d’architecture de la vie paysanne, ce centre d’interprétation animé redonne vie aux 10 000 artéfacts reçus au fil des ans et constitue une vitrine actuelle sur les us et coutumes, les métiers et savoir-faire ainsi que les mots qui ont forgé l’histoire d’un peuple. Pour plus de détails sur le Village québécois d’antan, consultez notre site web au villagequebecois.com ou communiquez avec nous au 819 478-1441 / 1 877 710-0267. Nous vous invitons également à nous suivre sur les médias sociaux pour rester informés des nouvelles de dernière heure.

— 30 —

Source :
Jacinthe Roberge
Chefs des communications
Village québécois d’antan
jacinthe.roberge@villagequebecois.com
819 478-1441 poste 223